Denkplan - the method

Denkplan is a method to visualize the complexity of the organisation clearly and comprehensibly, to present strategy in a tangible way, to prioritize projects in strategic fields of action and finally, to break them down to the task at hand for teams and employees. If the focus shifts, due to market or the company changes, Denkplan can be easily adapted. Denkplan helps you to keep the overview, to track the progress and to take the employees as participants on the journey of the company.

Create your strategic ImpactMap

Standing together in front of the ImpactMap, management and employees develop an overall picture of the organisation. Where do our strengths lie? Where is there still a need to catch up? What are the most important strategic fields of action? They identify previously hidden connections and recognise dependencies. They determine the strategic fields of action that create value and from these they derive the most important concrete plans for the near future. In this way, employees are transformed from affected parties to participants, without the management losing control.

Identify and prioritise Fields of Action (FoA)

The jointly defined strategic Fields of Action and projects from the ImpactMap are visualized on the portfolio board. For each strategic FoA, the individual action steps – so-called initiatives – are formulated. The higher up an initiative is placed, the more urgent it is. The priority of the initiatives can be specified so that a consensus can be reached on what should be achieved in the short, medium and long term. This creates an overall transparency that increases focus and flexibility.

Keep the big picture in mind

The portfolio kanban with the identified initiatives supports the pull into implementation, serves for prioritization and fine-tuning via dependencies and capacity. It also acts as a feedback instrument for the pull system. In a pull system, the teams chose their tasks instead of being assigned to them. In this way the teams take ownership of their initiatives.
The kanban board allows you to visualize the current status of all initiatives at any point in time. The goal of the Kanban Board is to set focus, ensure flow, avoid waiting times and minimize the lead time of initiatives. This type of progress tracking can be applied and is comprehensible at all levels of abstraction – from strategy to team and back again.

Employees as participants

Employees and teams help shape the initiatives and thus understand the meaningfulness of the tasks. How does their work contribute to our journey as an organization? How does the piece of the puzzle fit into the overall structure? What is my personal contribution? Why is my work valuable? In this way, everyone is actively involved in change and strategy implementation. Denkplan provides the overview that shows the progress in the strategic FoA and initiatives and enables flexible actions.

WHY

We believe that transparency, consistency and flexibility make companies successful.

HOW

A visual, simple system for business planning with minimal bureaucracy: transparent, agile, iterative, communicative, consensus and feedback oriented.

WHAT

Simplicity of methodology and instruments, smart feedback mechanisms and consistency ensure broad support for the company strategy.

Denkplan - die Methode

Denkplan ist eine Methode, um die Komplexität des Unternehmens verständlich und einfach zu visualisieren, Strategie greifbar darzustellen, Vorhaben in strategischen Handlungsfeldern zu priorisieren und diese letztlich bis zur Task bei den Teams und Mitarbeitenden herunterzubrechen. Verlagern sich Schwerpunkte, verändert sich der Markt oder das Unternehmen, so ist der Denkplan einfach anpassbar. Denkplan hilft Dir, den Überblick zu behalten, den Fortschritt zu verfolgen und die Mitarbeitenden als Beteiligte auf die Reise des Unternehmens mitzunehmen.

Erstelle deine strategische ImpactMap

Gemeinsam vor der ImpactMap stehend erarbeiten Geschäftsleitung und die Mitarbeitenden ein Gesamtbild der Organisation. Wo liegen unsere Stärken? Wo ist noch Aufholbedarf? Welches sind die wichtigsten strategischen Handlungsfelder? Sie erkennen bisher verborgene Zusammenhänge und erkennen Abhängigkeiten. Sie bestimmen die Wert stiftenden strategischen Handlungsfelder und leiten aus diesen die wichtigsten konkreten Vorhaben für die nächste Zeit ab. Die Mitarbeitenden werden so vom Betroffenen zu Beteiligten, ohne dass die Geschäftsleitung das Ruder aus der Hand gibt.

Erkenne und priorisiere Handlungsfelder

Die gemeinsam definierten strategischen Handlungsfelder und Vorhaben aus der ImpactMap werden auf dem Portfolioboard visualisiert. Für jedes strategische Handlungsfeld werden die einzelnen Handlungsschritte – sogenannte Initiativen- formuliert. Je weiter oben eine Initiative platziert wird, desto dringlicher ist diese. Die Priorität der Initiativen kann angegeben werden, damit ein Konsens darüber entsteht, was kurz-, mittel- und langfristig erreicht werden soll. Somit entsteht eine übergreifende Transparenz, welche die Fokussierung und die Flexbilität erhöht.

Portfolioboard
Kanban

Behalte das große Ganze im Blick

Das Portfolio-Kanban mit den erkannten Initiativen unterstützt den Pull in die Umsetzung, dient der Priorisierung und der Feinabstimmung über Abhängigkeiten und Kapazität. Zudem wirkt es als Feedback-Instrument des Pull Systems. Im einem Pull-System holen sich die Teams ihre Aufgaben, statt sie zugewiesen zu bekommen. So übernehmen die Teams Initiative für Ihre Initiativen.

Das Kanban-Board ermöglicht Dir, den aktuellen Status aller Initiativen zu visualisieren. Ziel des Kanban-Boards ist es, Fokus zu setzen, den Flow sicherzustellen, Wartezeiten zu vermeiden und die Lead Time von Initiativen zu minimieren. Diese Art der Fortschrittsverfolgung ist auf allen Abstraktionsebenen anwendbar und nachvollziehbar – von der Strategie bis zum Team und wieder zurück.

Mitarbeitende als Beteiligte

Mitarbeitende und Teams gestalten die Initiativen mit und verstehen so die Sinnhaftigkeit der Aufgaben. Wie zahlt ihre Tätigkeit auf unsere Reise als Organisation ein? Wie passt das Puzzleteil in das Gesamtgefüge ein? Was ist mein persönlicher Beitrag? Wieso ist meine Arbeit wertvoll? So sind alle aktiv Teil der Veränderung und Strategieumsetzung. Denkplan schafft den Überblick, der den Fortschritt in den strategischen Handlungsfeldern und Initiativen aufzeigt und flexibles Agieren ermöglicht.

methode_detail
Podium Picture

WHY

Wir glauben, dass Transparenz, Durchgängigkeit und Flexibilität Unternehmen erfolgreich macht.

HOW

Ein visuelles, einfaches System für Unternehmensplanung mit minimaler Bürokratie: Transparent, agil, iterativ, kommunikativ, Konsens und Feedback orientiert.

Rocket Picture

WHAT

Einfachheit von Methodik und Instrumenten, pfiffige Feedbackmechanismen und Durchgängigkeit sichern die breite Abstützung der Strategie im Unternehmen.

Die Denkplan Methodik wurde inspiriert von

  • Morphologischer Kasten und Sokrates Map der Sokrates Group
  • User Story Map von Jeff Patton
  • Kanban